Facts About Paraguay


Paraguay is a landlocked country in the center of South America, bordered on the north by Bolivia, on the east by Brazil, and on the south and west by Argentina.  It is about the size of California with a climate similar to Florida. The country has two distinct climates, or zones. The eastern portion, called the “Oriental,” is a moist, fertile zone with ranches, farmland, swamps, and subtropical forests. The western portion, known as the “Gran Chaco”, is a flat and dry region, made up of savannas, scrub-lands, and flood plains.


Paraguay has a population of about seven million people. There are two official languages; Spanish, the business language, and Paraguayan Guarani, the dominate language in the rural areas and homes. There are numerous ethnic groups in Paraguay; nineteen of these are First Nations people groups.


Catholicism is the dominate religion in Paraguay, claiming about 88% of the population.  Protestants are roughly 8% of the population, Atheists, Agnostics, and those of no declared preference represent 2%, and all others, including traditional First Nation religious beliefs, represent the final 2%.